Made for Mermaids Mama Isabel- Pattern Testing

Have you ever made a pattern for the first time and thought “this was designed for me!”? Well, I have no other way to describe M4M‘s newest pattern release, the Mama Isabel. With my very first make using the pattern, it was an immediate wow. I have not worn a wrap dress in a long time, but I love a good crossover silhouette in the front (even now that my nursing days are over). But now I may not wear anything other than this wrap dress/top.

 

isabel1wm

isabel7wm

The Mama Isabel is just as versatile as all of the recent Mama patterns with multiple sleeve lengths (sleeveless, short sleeve, 3/4 and long sleeve), top/dress/maxi, straight hemline or tulip hem, and a separate bodice and skirt (which allows for use of two separate fabrics since wrap dresses can eat up a lot of fabric!!!).  Plus the lovely team of testers used a variety of fabric types when sewing Mama Isabel including DBP, rayon spandex, and even one with a lightweight liverpool.

I ordered my first four yard cut of fabric at a recent sale from Knitpop about a week before testing.  It was so beautiful when it came in. Does the heart eye emoji work in WordPress????😍.  I usually stick to projects that require only 2 yards of fabric, which sometimes is challenging since I am in the larger half of sizes for most patterns. So 4 yards?!?  Let me tell you. It was so worth it. I was able to cut the maxi with long sleeves out of this beautiful cut.

isabel6wm

isabel9wm

I added 1 inch to the bodice for my long torso, but I did not add length to the skirt due to the fact that I rarely wear heals. This is a size green bodice graded out to yellow hips. The fit of the skirt skims my curves. I was worried about the fit being too clingy, but I was able to grade according to my measurements and the skirt fit was spot on.  This is a double brushed poly which makes the skirt stick slightly to itself in the double layer of the front skirts.

isabelwm5

 

isabel2wm

isabel11wm

This is a true wrap where the bodice is meant to hit at the natural waist.  I used the original tie lengths.  The original length allows for tying on the side (not the back).  Megan is including a hack to make the ties longer to allow for tying behind the back.

isabel8wm

isabel3wm

isabel10wm

isabel4wm

Next, I wanted to try the tulip maxi. I am pretty self conscious about my legs which makes the tulip maxi a great option. It shows a little leg but provides backside coverage. I was able to cut the tulip skirt and back piece out of a generous two yard cut with a little creativity.

tulip-isa1wm

tulip-isa5wm

The skirt is the Geo Denim double brushed poly from Love Adore Knit Fabrics. I used a solid ivory DBP to coordinate (unfortunately I cannot remember where I purchased the solid).

tulip-isa6wm

The solid doesn’t have the best recovery and ended up being a little see through for my likes. Oh well, the combo was something I have had in mind since I purchased the fabrics a couple of months ago. I was going back and forth on a dress pattern to use, and once again, I am thankful I was indecisive since I think this worked out well.

Also, I do have a little bunching in the underarms, but I am usually borderline for needing to add length to the armscye on patterns.  I will definitely add length in the armscye the next time I make this version.  Adding length there terrifies me, but I just need to bite the bullet and learn to make better adjustments to make patterns fit my body better.  That’s why we all sew, right?  To make the best fitting garments for our body type, or in my case my ridiculously long torso.

tulip-isa2wm

tulip-isa4wm

Finally, I used this poly blend from Hobby Lobby with this short sleeve dress in mind. The fabric is from their spring apparel fabrics. Although, I am pretty sure they carried this same print last year. This one has excellent drape with a silky texture. It makes for the perfect wrap dress as the layers slide against each other as opposed to the DBP sticking to itself.

ss-isa1wm

ss-isa3wm

ss-isa5wm

ss-isa6wm

ss-isa4wm

ss-isa2wm

The short sleeve version is very practical. I feel like the cut and shoulder coverage makes it appropriate for so many occasions.

Per usual, I already have so many other versions planned out in my head including the mash with the Mama Cassie skirt for a more flowy skirt fit. Also, I want to add a regular waist band to the tulip maxi skirt to make a pull on version. So many ideas, so little time.

Until next time…sewing and sipping,

Stacey

***I received the pattern for free as a part of testing.  My thoughts and opinions are purely my own.***

9 thoughts on “Made for Mermaids Mama Isabel- Pattern Testing

  1. Pingback: My Favorite Things

Leave a comment